“I’m a terrible Christian, but I really love Jesus”

Growing up, religion was an awfully confusing thing for me. I mean choosing which flavor of ice cream was difficult enough, and then being bombarded with which religion was going to take me to some future utopic paradise seemed really out of reach; if not out of line.

So when a friend of mine invited me to VBS (Vacation Bible School for you non-acronym folk), I was confused with what that even meant. But with a promise of fun and ice cream, going to a church to learn about who Jesus was seemed a little more alluring.

 

Ever since that time I went to VBS when I was eight, this journey into a relationship with Christ was well… how do you say… interesting? I mean first of all who cares, and secondly is it worth it. Those two questions were always in the back of my mind, but I dare not speak them out loud; for I would be deemed evil and faithless by many “churched” congregants.

 

Going to private school didn’t make my faith journey easier, though I was promised it would… yeah, ok! First of all I don’t want to fault extremely legalistic, traditional Christians for how they practice their faith. Just as long as you are not judging another who practices their faith genuinely then that’s ok. I have a problem when you become a stumbling block to a fellow follower of Christ, then we have issues.

 

I still have to wrestle these issues to this day, and sadly enough I don’t talk to the large majority I went to school with. They either want nothing to do with me or life caught up with them. What I do know is that many of them are not practicing their faith any longer; and what is faith if you don’t live it, right?

 

What I am trying to tell you is that there is a difference between being a Christian, and being a Christ-follower, someone who loves Jesus. Yes, that’s right, there is a difference indeed. I know, you thought your whole life that Christians love Jesus; sorry, you got some bad info because many Christians I have met do not love Jesus at all, but their religion.

 

That’s why so many people searching for what is right hardly end up on Christianity’s footstep. That’s because there are way too many footsteps in the first place, and many of them lead to a closed door with nothing on the inside. There has never been so much confusion on what Christianity is than now. I mean there are literally dozens of denominations with hundreds of sub-denominations under those and some under those! It’s no wonder the Church (as a whole) isn’t reaching those without a relationship with Christ effectively.

 

I struggled with my faith throughout college (and I went to Bible college, yikes!) because of the ill feelings that sat with me throughout my private school days. Christianity was so artificial that while I thought I was being satisfied; it really ended up hurting my spiritual “stomach,” if you will, and gave me no nourishment. I was left not growing in my faith and going into Bible college not having a clue on what true Christianity even looked liked, nevertheless gaining a true knowledge of it.

 

So if you have been left wondering about the state of your faith, or if you don’t have one, then let me tell you how I came to a true understanding of who Jesus is and what Christianity should look like:

 

1. Faith is foundational

 

One principle you should always live by is that faith is the most important thing ever, yes… EVER! Without faith it is impossible to please God (Hebrews 11:6). Faith isn’t a feeling or something that comes and goes; it is based on the Bible—what God has to say to you (Romans 10:17). Those who have a true relationship with Christ have true faith (Romans 1:17).

 

2. It’s not about you, it’s about what He wants

 

Christianity has become a self-serve, buffet-style religion and that is so far from the original intent of the early followers that many don’t even practice true faith anymore, because many simply don’t know (Hosea 4:6). Living a life of faith is living a life of sacrifice, of selflessness, and of sincerity. We sacrifice our money, our time, our talents and dreams to Christ so that he can take everything we have and we are… which is His anyways (Colossians 1:16-17), and use them for His glory and for the extension of the Kingdom. If we serve others and do good things for our communities but we do it with a selfish and insincere heart, then we do no good to see God be glorified or the body of Christ leading others to Him (1 Timothy 1:5).

 

3. Claim God’s promises

 

One of the biggest reasons why I believe we have spiritually weak Christians is because they do not claim what is rightfully theirs. God loves us and wants us to know Him (Psalm 139, 1 John 4:8). He has throughout time made promises to His children (Hebrews 11) for the sole purpose of blessing, whether it’s for us or for others (Psalm 67:1-2). Many of us go without this blessing simply we do not ask for it (Matthew 7:7-8), or because we are not living in obedience to Christ’s commands (Psalm 66:18, Romans 10:12).

 

Now there are so many other things I learned on my journey with Christ, but these are the main three. These have led me to a sweeter, more fulfilling life and a deeper relationship with God. The journey is never easy and the journey is never a sprint. Life is a marathon it takes a very long time to get through, and life is many times difficult. Nevertheless God has promised that he will bring us through difficulties (Psalm 23:4) and led us to Himself one day (1 Corinthians 13:12)!

 

Leave a comment