Why I Believe in Love Above All Else

This is something I have wanted to talk about for a long time, but I always seemed to hesitate…

But now I am definitely ready to write about this. This is something that is so important for all of us to hear, especially as we reach the end of 2016.

You see, 2016 was a contentious year. Many have commented that 2016 was one of the worst years in a long time. I can understand and sympathize with that sentiment. I know for me 2016 was a difficult year. It’s one I won’t miss and I am definitely looking forward to 2017!

As we enter the new year in just a couple of weeks, I believe there is one singular message that needs to be proclaimed, especially in these dark times:

Love above all else!

I am clinging to the truth that love will conquer all: all of the junk, the muck and the mire, and the hate that swirled about in our society this past year. There is an incredible hope found in love and for me God is love. Advent is such a profound movement in the Christian calendar for me. Waiting for the Son of God to come as one of us, how the world was without hope until a Savior would come and bring hope to all who were willing to receive it freely.

I’ve waited and now I am ready to celebrate the birth of the Savior Jesus Christ. It will mark the end of a tough year for me, but it will prepare me to receive something better: a new year with new opportunities to see God work.

I pray that for you, you will open yourself to a renewed hope found in Jesus Christ. That you will embrace a new year to become what you have always wanted to be. That you will proclaim and live with your words and your actions…

Love above all else!

– Ryan

Leave a comment